ZZZZzzzzz……

Sleep. It alludes me in the form of a 12 1/2 lb. baby girl.

It’s allergy season here in Central Texas. Just like our summers, allergy season lasts for about 14 months of the year. Naturally my family is plagued with them.

We actually all suffer from a variety of them with varying symptoms. I have chronic headaches, my children have runny noses and coughs, and my husband bleeds out of his ears and nose.

Not really, but he has pretty bad symptoms. One year he had a horrible mystery rash all over his neck and face. The doctor didn’t have a clue. Of course, after suffering through some allergen for most of the summer, it just went away. Bizarro. 

But my baby girl, ugh, bless her tiny heart and stuffy nose. 

She wakes up every half hour to rub her itchy nose and try to breath. I worry about that breathing part, so she sleeps in the recalled Nap Nanny between us at night. 

It’s my ‘go to’ for sick babies, because it keeps them inclined so all that junk can drain through her tiny sinuses. 

But I still worry and wake up a billion times, even if she goes right back to sleep. 

And she started waking up at 3am to itch her nose, finds she can’t breath that well, then starts crying. I use her saline drops, and that makes her ANGRY so I have no other choice but to nurse her, even though she’s not really hungry for night feedings anymore and can sleep a solid 8 hours at night. 

This always happens to my babies. I have them perfectly sleep trained, then some pesky cold or allergies comes along and derails everything. 

So I am waking up in tiny short intervals all night, then one long stretch at 3am. 

Now Mommy is delirious. 

Like, I think I’m getting sick too. And I can’t get sick, because I’m The Mommy, can I get an Amen? 

I am managing to keep my head above water at work, but just barely. I’m running on fumes, so it’s really hard to concentrate. It’s a really good thing I don’t operate heavy machinery. 

 

Leave a Reply

