Baby Fat

Panda was four months at her check up last week. That means it has been four months since I was pregnant and could get away with eating sleeves of chocolate chip cookies for dinner.

I didn’t actually do that, but I did develop a raging sweet tooth with this last pregnancy. 

And how come no one told me that breastfeeding makes you crazy hungry all the time?

I mean, my husband will eat dinner and be full, and I’m digging through the refrigerator thirty minutes later. 

Which is probably why I am not losing the weight. I am also not exercising, because I use my lunch hour every day to look for jobs. That is the only time I have all day to work out. 

It’s weird though, because I drink copious amounts of water. I am so nervous that my milk supply will dwindle that I am terrified to be away from my giant 32 oz. water container. I must drink at least three a day. Any more and I will be waterlogged. 

I also don’t eat bad either. My meals are mostly salads, snacks during the day our fruit. 90% of the time we have a lean protein and veggies for dinner. I do indulge in sweets, though. Ice cream, usually. But last night I didn’t, so I am going to gradually reduce the sugar intake and see what happens. 

But I am seriously afraid that I am not going to lose any weight until I stop breastfeeding. I have even gained 3 lbs.! How does that happen? I mean, I may be eating ice cream and avoiding my usual 2 mile run, but chasing a toddler and constantly changing and nursing an infant have to burn something, right?

I don’t know. Maybe I’ll revisit this topic in a few months and see where we are at. Hopefully not any fatter. I don’t want to have to buy a size larger in my maternity pants that I am still wearing. 

2 thoughts on “Baby Fat

  1. Remember that some of that weight is up top, from the breastfeeding. I didn’t lose any baby weight until way after I stopped breastfeeding. Even though I was burning calories by producing milk, I was voraciously hungry all day long. My son is two and a half and I am ALMOST down to pre-baby weight! Stay strong, you will get there!

    • I hadn’t even thought about the extra milk weight I am carrying around. I wish ALL of the extra weight was in my boobs. That would be awesome. Although I might have some back pain. You are not kidding about the hunger, though. I am starving all the time. Thanks for the encouragement, Angela!

Leave a Reply

