Making The Decision to Quit

Panda will be 5 months next week and I have almost accomplished my goal of finding part time employment that can be performed at home.

Finding real remote work, part time or full, is extremely difficult. First you have to sift through scams, and then when you find something legitimate you have to compete with every job applicant in the world.

Really.

Because remote work can be done from anywhere. So that means everyone on our planet is applying to that job.

But through a little networking and a stroke of good luck, I have secured two part time gigs that will cover half the salary I need to cover my part of our household expenses.

Now the tricky part – quitting my day job.

But the really tricky part is not quitting, but convincing my boss to let me reduce my hours to contract hours AND work from home – which no one has ever done.

I have threatened my husband multiple times about doing this. It’s my way of working up the courage to walk into my boss’s office and ask for what I want.

See, I wasn’t really raised to ask for what you want. That’s not what Southern Girls do.

We simper and smile and occasionally ‘suggest’.

Then a big strong man with a gun and lots of money comes along to save the day. Easy as apple pie.

But that’s not really my thing, the simpering and passive aggressive behavior, so I have to slap some water on my face and get in there.

But it’s scary, and I don’t want to.

Because it’s not just about personal rejection. It’s about not being able to accept it.

Oh, I’ve learned to deal with rejection and I can take constructive criticism like a champ, but this whole thing isn’t about me; it’s about Squishy Bug and Panda. So my boss has to say yes.

I don’t really know how it’s going to go, but I am going to have to make a move very soon, because my other small jobs are going to require more of me. I’m sort of doing it all right now, but that won’t be sustainable for very long.

I guess I am going to have to march in there with my chin up and a smile on my face and just be honest.

And tactical.

Because whether I like it or not, the world only sees value in you for what you can produce.

So I am going to have to prove my worth and offer added value to the proposition of working contract instead of salary.

We will see how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

